T20 WC 2021 : India, Pakistan placed in same group


Hosts India have been pooled with Pakistan, New Zealand, Afghanistan and two qualifier teams in Group 2 for the T20 World Cup later this year. England, Australia, South Africa, West Indies and two more qualifier teams will form Group 1 for the tournament.

Both Sri Lanka and Bangladesh will have to go through the qualifying tournament. Sri Lanka have been placed in Group A with Ireland, Netherlands and Namibia while Bangladesh will face Scotland, Papua New Guinea and Oman in Group B.

The groups were formed according to T20I rankings as on March 20, 2021. Six teams – Ireland, Netherlands, Namibia, Oman, PNG and Scotland – sealed their place in the Qualifiers via the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Qualifier in 2019 while the top eight ranked teams earned direct qualification for the tournament.