Hendricks earns first Cricket South Africa national contract


Beuran Hendricks was awarded his first national contract, while Anrich Nortje, Dwaine Pretorius and Rassie van der Dussen earned contract upgrades as Cricket South Africa (CSA) announced the list of players for both the men and women who are to be awarded national contracts for the 2020-21 season.

“We have contracted 16 men’s players and 14 women’s players which we feel is the appropriate number to maintain our national squads across the various formats,” said CSA Acting Chief Executive – Dr. Jacques Faul on Monday (March 23). “This enables us to contract both our Test players as well as those who are limited overs specialists. We have decided to keep the 17th men’s contract open for the moment and players can qualify for it through performance,” Faul added.

“The upgrade system will again be in place this year wherein the players performing and selected for South Africa during the 2020/21 season and who are not contracted can qualify for a National Contract upgrade.” – the CSA release further stated.

The men’s contracts will cover the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup in Australia, South Africa’s home series against Sri Lanka (Tests), Australia (Tests), Pakistan (T20Is), India (T20Is) and away tours to West Indies and Sri Lanka.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here