Recent Match Report – Sri Lanka vs South Africa 3rd T20I 2021



    Visitors make one change, with Mulder getting a go in place of Nortje

    Toss: Sri Lanka chose to bat v South Africa

    Sri Lanka have won the toss and chosen to bat, in the third T20 at Khettarama. Although they had lost the last match batting first, this is an unsurprising decision, with Khettarama surfaces generally more difficult to chase on. South Africa, who won the first two games and as such have already secured the series, would have batted first too.

    The visitors made just one change to their XI, bringing in allrounder Wiaan Mulder in for fast bowler Anrich Nortje. This was likely more to do with wanting to give Mulder a match ahead of the T20 World Cup, rather than down to any perceived deficiencies in the XI that won comprehensively on Saturday.

    Sri Lanka, meanwhile, made three changes. They brought back opener Avishka Fernando, leaving out wicketkeeper-batter Dinesh Chandimal; brought in Kamindu Mendis to replace Charith Asalanka in the middle order; and also strengthened their seam bowling, by bringing in allrounder Lahiru Madushanka for left-arm spinner Praveen Jayawickrama.

    There is a chance showers will interrupt the match.

    Sri Lanka: 1 Kusal Perera (wk), 2 Avishka Fernando 3 Bhanuka Rajapaksa, 4 Dhananjaya de Silva, 5 Kamindu Mendis, 6 Dasun Shanaka, 7 Wanindu Hasaranga, 8 Chamika Karunaratne, 9 Lahiru Madushanka, 10 Dushmantha Chameera, 11 Maheesh Theekshana

    South Africa: 1 Quinton de Kock (wk), 2 Reeza Hendricks, 3 Aiden Markram, 4 Rassie van der Dussen, 5 Heinrich Klaasen, 6 Dwaine Pretorius, 7 Wiaan Mulder, 8 Keshav Maharaj (capt.), 9 Kagiso Rabada, 10 Bjorn Fortuin, 11 Tabraiz Shamsi

    Andrew Fidel Fernando is ESPNcricinfo’s Sri Lanka correspondent. @afidelf

    Source link