Ben McDermott named in Australia’s squad for Sri Lanka, Pakistan T20I series



Ben McDermott has been named in Australia’s 14-man squad for the T20I series against Sri Lanka and Pakistan, Cricket Australia announced on Tuesday (October 8). Steve Smith and David Warner also return to the side with Marcus Stoinis being one of the notable absentees.

Stoinis managed just 87 runs in the 2019 World Cup and struggled with injuries. Smith’s last T20I, incidentally, was in 2016 in the T20 World Cup group game against India in Mohali. “We are delighted to welcome Steve Smith and David Warner back into the Twenty20 International fold. Steve is a world-class batsman in all formats, while Warner is Australia’s highest ever T20I runs-scorer. He was also the leading runs-scorer at this year’s Indian Premier League with Sunrisers Hyderabad,” Trevor Hohns, the national selector, said. “The squad we have selected is quite role-specific and we believe it gives us the flexibility to thrive in all match conditions.

“It is almost a year to the day until Australia hosts the men’s Twenty20 World Cup and we have selected this squad with that in mind. We have looked to put a squad together that we think can take us through to that tournament.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here