Unchanged SL bowl first; Zimbabwe pick Musakanda, Mumba

Zimbabwe batsman Tarisai Musakanda in action during the final of the Blue Mountain Achilleion Tri-Series played between Sri Lanka and hosts Zimbabwe at the Queens Sports Club in Bulawayo, on November 27, 2016. / AFP / Jekesai Njikizana (Photo credit should read JEKESAI NJIKIZANA/AFP/Getty Images)

Angelo Mathews won the toss and chose to bowl first expecting early assistance from the Hambantota surface, but Zimbabwe captain Graeme Cremer was pleased his team would be defending a score, as he felt the pitch would deteriorate as the day went on. A ferocious crosswind that has been blowing across the ground since the morning will test both sides.

Zimbabwe made two changes to their XI. They changed one seam bowler, replacing Donald Tiripano with Carl Mumba, who was a late addition to the squad – flying in after Wellington Masakadza was ruled out of the series with an ankle injury. They also made a change in their batting order, bringing in Tarisai Musakanda for Ryan Burl.

Sri Lanka were unchanged, with Lakshan Sandakan and Wanidu Hasaranga making up the frontline spin-bowling contingent, and Dushmantha Chameera, Lasith Malinga, and Nuwan Pradeep playing as the frontline quicks.

There is no rain forecast for the duration of the match.

Sri Lanka: 1 Niroshan Dickwella (wk), 2 Danushka Gunathilaka, 3 Kusal Mendis, 4 Upul Tharanga, 5 Angelo Mathews (capt.), 6 Asela Gunaratne, 7 Wanidu Hasaranga, 8 Dushmantha Chameera, 9 Lakshan Sandakan,10 Lasith Malinga, 11 Nuwan Pradeep

Zimbabwe: 1 Solomon Mire, 2 Hamilton Masakadza, 3 Craig Ervine, 4 Sean Williams, 5 Sikander Raza, 6 Peter Moor (wk), 7 Malcolm Waller, 8 Tarisai Musakanda, 9 Graeme Cremer (capt.), 10 Tendai Chatara, 11 Carl Mumba

Andrew Fidel Fernando is ESPNcricinfo’s Sri Lanka correspondent. @andrewffernando


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here